Chase Whale

Twitter: @ChaseWhale
Member: Rotten Tomatoes, DFWFCA

Chase Whale co-founded the popular independent film website, where he remained Editor-in-Chief until August, 2011. On behalf of GATW, he covered Cannes, Sundance, SXSW, the Toronto International Film Festival and Comic-Con, along with junkets in London, Toronto and other parts of the world. He

Throughout his career as a journalist, Chase has interviewed Harrison Ford, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Mark Wahlberg, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Julianne Moore, Guillermo del Toro, Danny Boyle, Will Ferrell, Jason Reitman, Academy Award® Winner Davis Guggenheim, Andrew Garfield, Mark Romanek, Zach Galifianakis, Matt Reeves, Carey Mulligan, Simon Pegg, Harmony Korine, Sam Rockwell, Richard Linklater, Michael Shannon, Bill Murray, Sissy Spacek, Robert Duvall, Jean-Claude Van Damme (twice!), Jesse Eisenberg, Jane Lynch, “Tim and Eric”, Ashton Kutcher, Nicolas Winding Refn and dozens of other prominent actors, directors and filmmakers in the industry.

In 2009, NBC named him one of the 25 most interesting people in Dallas, along with Erykah Badu and Nolan Ryan. Later that year, The Wrap listed him as one of 30 Movie Insiders to Follow Right Now On Twitter, with Peter Travers and the late, great Roger Ebert.

Since GATW’s departure, he’s programmed for the Alamo Drafthouse, Fantastic Fest, Rooftop Film and the Sundance Film Festival, worked in film distribution for Cinedigm in New York, and his reviews, interviews, and editorials have been featured on websites including Twitch,, MTV’s Next Movie, Film Threat, Indiewire’s The Playlist, We Got This Covered, Latino Review, Dallas Observer, Culture Map Central Track, Hammer to Nail, and Denton Record-Chronicle. Whale is a member of Rotten Tomatoes, Criticwire and is currently the youngest member of the Dallas-Forth Worth Film Critics Association.

Moreover, Whale is one of the most sought after film critics online and around the DFW area.

Interview highlights:
Jean-Claude Van Damme
Guillermo del Toro
Nicholas Winding Refn
Danny Boyle
Michael Shannon
Simon Pegg

Davis Guggenheim

Mark Wahlberg

Mike Judge

Paul Schneider

Jesse Eisenberg

Richard Ayoade

Gareth Evans
Tim and Eric
Philip Seymour Hoffman

Harrison Ford
Rian Johnson
Rainn Wilson
Richard Jenkins and Tom McCarthy
Dolph Lundgren
Jessie Eisenberg
Cary Fukunaga
Jim Sturgess
Neill Blomkamp
Rose Byrne and Hugh Dancy
Bruce Campbell
Chan-wook Park
Peter Jackson
James Toback
Bill Hader and Greg Mottola
Jay and Mark Duplass
Jeff Nichols
Paul Giamatti and Amy Ryan
Mike Mills
Joe Wright
Saoirse Ronan
Eric Bana
Joan Rivers
Bobcat Goldthwait
Kal Penn, John Cho, and Neil Patrick Harris
Rob Zombie
Woody Harrelson
Nick Frost
Noah Baumbach
Tom Six
Donald Glover
Jorma Taccone, Will Forte, and Kristen Wiig
Josh Radnor
Academy Award® Nominee Quvenzhané Wallis
Shane Carruth
Charlie Day and Ron Perlman

Film credits
The Cinematic Approach (2001) – Writer, Director, Editor
Redford Sent Us – (documentary; himself)
Rewind This! (thanks)
Grow up, Tony Phillips (the producers would like to thank)

Trivia and accolades:
In 2001, Chase shot, directed, and edited a 40-minute skateboard film called The Cinematic Approach

The logo for Gordon and the Whale appears towards the end of  Jane Eyre (2011) as a watercolor painting. Director Cary Fukunaga discussed this in an interview with

The logo for Gordon and the Whale appears at the beginning of the movie My Sucky Teen Romance (2011)

Former member of the Austin Film Critics Association

Was a guest speaker at the Austin Film Festival’s Film Critics and the Industry, alongside David Denby, The New Yorker; Kenneth Turan, Los Angeles Times; Neil Miller,; Chris Vognar, The Dallas Morning News

In 2009, NBC named him one of the 25 most interesting people in Dallas, along with Erykah Badu and Nolan Ryan.

In 2009, The Wrap listed him as one of 30 Movie Insiders to Follow Right Now On Twitter, with the late, great Roger Ebert, Peter Travers, Jon Favreau, Jason Reitman, Wes Craven, David Lynch, Elizabeth Banks, Russell Brand, Harry Knowles, and Slash Film’s Peter Sciretta.